RSS Feed

Slow Cooker Mushroom Pot Roast

I’ve been looking for lower carb dinner ideas that I can make in the slow cooker, and I came across this recipe through the CBC show Best Recipes Ever. It looked like an everyday, down home type of meal that the whole family would enjoy. Granted there’s only two of us in my household, but I’m also sharing this one with my family back in Labrador, because its just plain good! I only had one can of mushrooms on hand so I used that, so perhaps it would be more flavourful if I had used the whole 4 cups of fresh mushrooms called for in the recipe. I threw in some baby carrots instead because that’s what I had on hand. The meat was fall apart tender and the gravy was crazy thick. I added water, a  couple of tablespoons at a time until it was the consistency I like.  I also suggest letting it simmer for the 15 minutes to cook off the raw flour taste.

This is the third time I’ve ever made anything in my slow cooker. The other two times I stayed at home while the meals cooked. Yesterday, I was so nervous about leaving the slow cooker while I went to pick up groceries, but nothing happened. It was simmering away quite happily when I got home and it continued to make magic while I puttered around the house, tidying up before the tiny boss got home from daycare. She liked it as well but wouldn’t even think about trying the garlic mashed cauliflower I made. I’ll post that recipe later when I perfect it.

photo (5)

Mushroom Pot Roast

3 lb (1.4 kg) boneless beef cross rib pot roasts
1/2 tsp (2 mL) salt
1/2 tsp (2 mL) pepper
2 tbsp (30 mL) vegetable oil
1 onion, diced
2 carrots, sliced
2 celery stalks, sliced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp (5 mL) dried marjoram
1 tsp (5 mL) dried oregano
4 cups (1 L) button mushrooms, quartered
1/3 cup (75 mL) sodium-reduced beef stock
2 tbsp (30 mL) tomato paste
2 tsp (10 mL) Worcestershire sauce
3 tbsp (45 mL) all-purpose flour

Sprinkle beef with salt and pepper. In large skillet, heat half of the oil over medium-high heat; brown beef all over, adding more oil if necessary. Transfer to slow cooker.

Discard any fat from pan; add remaining oil. Cook onion, carrots, celery, garlic, marjoram and oregano over medium heat until softened, about 5 minutes. Add mushrooms; cook until tender, about 5 minutes. Scrape into slow cooker.

Stir in stock, scraping up brown bits; boil for 1 minute and pour into slow cooker. Add tomato paste and Worcestershire sauce; cover and cook on low for 5 to 7 hours, or on high for 4 hours, until beef is tender.

Transfer meat to cutting board; tent with foil and let stand for 15 minutes before thinly slicing across the grain.

Meanwhile, whisk flour with 1/4 cup (50 mL) water; whisk into slow cooker. Cover and cook on high for about 15 minutes or until thickened. Serve with beef.

Servings: 6

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

