RSS Feed

Pumpkin Pancakes

I had a ton of pumpkin leftover from making cupcakes and didn’t know what to do with it, so I searched through my old October issues of Martha Stewart Living and found this simple recipe for Pumpkin Pancakes. My daughter was napping when I began the recipe and of course she woke up while I was making the first batch. I managed to flip them over before they  burnt and they turned out great. Thick, fluffy and satisfying.  I’m not a fan of nutmeg or ginger so I used only 1/4 of a teaspoon of ginger then an 1/8 tsp of pumpkin pie spice instead of the nutmeg. It gave the pancakes just enough warmth for my tastes.  My little munchkin loved them! She kept saying, “I wuv pancakes! These are gweat!” lol

pumpkin pancakes

Pumpkin Pancakes

Whisk 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour; 2 tablespoons sugar; 2 teaspoons baking powder; 1/2 teaspoon each cinnamon, ground ginger, and salt; 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg; and a pinch of ground cloves.

In a separate bowl, stir together 1 cup milk, 6 tablespoons canned pumpkin puree, 2 tablespoons melted butter, and 1 egg; fold mixture into dry ingredients.

Melt some butter in a skillet over medium heat; pour in 1/4 cup batter for each pancake. Cook pancakes about 3 minutes per side; serve with butter and syrup.

Makes 8 to 10.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

