RSS Feed

Turkey Pumpkin Chilli

Although I made pumpkin cupcakes and pancakes I still had canned pumpkin leftover and didn’t know what to do with it. I knew I didn’t want to make anything else sweet because it’s not good for my diet, so when I was flipping through my http://www.toneitup.com recipes I was excited to find this one for turkey pumpkin chilli. I used turkey breast and crushed tomatoes instead of ground turkey with diced tomatoes and it still turned out well. (I think it would be a little better with the diced though.) I cut down on the spices a little to increase the odds my 2 year old would like it, and she did. She probably ate an adult sized bowl of it last night, which I’m so happy about because she’s eating veggies without even realizing it! I’m betting this would be a perfect way to use up leftover turkey from Canadian Thanksgiving, which is today but many people had their feast yesterday. I’m roasting a turkey breast tonight and making a lite flourless chocolate cake for dessert. Stay tuned!

(I’ll add my own photo later; I just wanted to get this recipe out there in case someone did want to make it for dinner tonight) 🙂

Turkey Pumpkin Chilli

1½ Tbs. virgin coconut oil (I used olive oil)
1½ cups onion, chopped
¾ green bell pepper, chopped
¾ yellow bell pepper, chopped
1½ cans, 6 oz green chiles, chopped
1½ large garlic clove, minced
1½ lbs. lean ground turkey breast
1½ cans, 10-11 oz diced tomatoes
1½ cans, 10-11 oz red kidney beans
1½ cups canned pumpkin puree
2¼ Tbs. chili powder
¾ Tbs. cumin
1 tsp. sea salt
½ tsp. freshly ground black pepper
¼ cup chopped fresh cilantro
¾ cup Greek yogurt
2 tsp of cinnamon

First, heat the oil in a large skillet on medium-high heat. Next, saute the onion, peppers, green chiles, and garlic for about 5 minutes or until tender. Add in ground turkey and cook until completely browned. Stir in tomatoes, beans, and pumpkin and bring to a simmer. Season with chili powder, cumin, sea salt, and pepper. Turn heat down to low and continue to let it simmer for 20 minutes. Mix in fresh cilantro and
stir in with plain greek yogurt and cinnamon right before serving. Voila! Your pumpkin turkey chili is ready for eight.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

