RSS Feed

Nigella Lawson’s Instant Pancake Mix

Wow! It’s been a while. Last week I was busy running around with Halloween preparations and this week my Mom is in town so I haven’t been cooking anything new – barely cooking at all actually. Last weekend I was in the mood for pancakes. I make http://www.toneitup.com protein pancakes 2-3 times a week and Little Miss M. always wants a bite.  I thought I would start making regular pancakes just for her on the weekends and a mix would save some time and effort. I did a Google search and found this recipe by Nigella Lawson. The batter seemed quite thin and the pancakes were kind of small but tasty. My daughter loved them and I’m pleased with them although I have yet to master the perfectly golden brown pancake. I did make my own superfine sugar in the blender and it turned out perfectly!

photo (8)

Nigella Lawson’s Instant Pancake Mix

From Nigella Express

For the pancake mix:

4 cups all-purpose flour

3 tablespoons baking powder

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons superfine sugar (or vanilla sugar)

For the batter:

to each 150g / 1 cup of pancake mix, add and whisk together

1 large egg

1 cup reduced fat milk (or full fat)

1 tablespoon melted butter

1. For the Pancake mix: Mix all the ingredients together and store in a jar.

2. When ready to make the pancakes, proceed as follows: Heat a flat griddle or pan with no oil.

3. Spoon drops of 1½-2 tablespoons of batter onto the hot griddle or into the pan and, when bubbles appear on the surface of the little pancakes, flip them over to make them golden brown on both sides. A minute or so a side should do it.

4. Should make about 15 pancakes, each about 8cm in diameter.

Note: If you don’t have superfine sugar at home simply run one cup plus two teaspoons of white sugar in the food processor for 30 seconds. This gives you one cup of superfine sugar.

Update, November 9th : I just made these again and they’re much better this time around. I don’t know what I did differently – maybe a touch more butter?

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Brunch Menu Planning | Heather's Homemade

  2. Pingback: 300th post! Best of the Best Recipes | Heather's Homemade

Leave a Reply

