RSS Feed

Salt Dough Stars

Little Miss M. was supposed to be a mermaid for Halloween. She had the most adorable turquoise sequined costume and I had a long blonde wing that I was going to get her to wear. I saw this idea on pinterest to make realistic looking dried starfish using salt dough so I decided to make some as a necklace for her.  It called for rolling out pieces and sticking them together to form a star, but I thought of a decent shortcut. I had a star cookie cutter that I used instead. Then I pushed in the points to round them out a little, pinched the base of each arm and then flattened the whole star to make it look more organic. For detail, I used the end of a paintbrush to make the design. As you can see, these aren’t very durable. My daughter was playing with them for a few minutes and broke the ends off a few of them. That being said, I think it looks pretty good! And guess what – after all that effort, on Halloween night she refused to wear the costume! She wanted to wear her pink fairy dress instead. lol

Salt dough stars

Salt dough stars

Salt Dough Clay

1/2 cup of salt

1/2 cup of water

1 cup of flour

Add the 1/2 cup of salt and 1 cup of flour to a bowl stir in the water adding it slowly – you may not need all of the water. You want the dough to be dry – if it gets sticky add more flour. Knead the dough and then roll out and use as you want. (about 1cm or 1/4″ thick)

Once you have made the shapes you want then you need to dry them so you can paint. Traditionally salt dough is dried in the oven which takes about 3 hours at a 180 degrees Fahrenheit.

Note: I accidentally baked mine overnight and they were fine. They were a little crinkly on the bottom but they didn’t burn.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

