RSS Feed

Holiday Update

Image

I’ve tried a few me recipes over the holidays and I’m sorry to say most of them didn’t turn out. I made a glazed ham from Betty Crocker which was too sweet, then maple walnut candies from Taste of Home which were also too sweet, and a red velvet cupcake recipe which I ruined with a substitution for red dye – never put drink crystals in cake batter. I thought it would add a hint of berry flavour but it completely overwhelmed everything. I don’t know what I was thinking. The only thing I made that turned out was my cinnamon ornaments from Martha Stewart. They are really cute but I still need to decorate them with white puff paint or glitter. I’m keeping this one on hand for next year.

It will be nice to get back to my own kitchen, and the full stocked shelves of a city grocery. I never thought I’d say this but I’m actually missing the bus system. At least I can go where I want, when I want instead of relying on rides from my busy family. Three more sleeps!!!

In other news, today is my birthday and I do not want to celebrate getting older. Please lie to me and tell me I look 25! LoL Or share a favourite birthday tradition or recipe đŸ™‚ When I was a kid my mom used to make Jello squares. Anyone else remember those?

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

