RSS Feed

Frozen Nutella Pie Squares

My dear Mr. M, my most reliable friend in the whole wide world, shovelled my friends car out from underneath a foot of snow that hit Ottawa over the Christmas holidays. I don’t really know how to thank him for all he does for me, but I thought making him dinner might help. I made a pork stir-fry as a main course because it’s both healthy and delicious, and for dessert I modified a frozen peanut butter pie recipe by using Nutella instead. I also used light cream cheese to bring down the fat and calories a little. Nutella is sweeter than peanut butter so I cut down the amount of sugar so feel free to start with 2 Tbsp and if it’s not sweet enough for you, add a little more. I used Dream Whip topping which makes about 2 cups when prepared. I didn’t toast the hazelnuts this time but I definitely will next time. This dessert is like a cross between ice cream cake and cheesecake. Holy Nutella goodness Batman it was yummalicious! It’s proof that something doesn’t have to be fancy to be good. It rivals the Nutella semifreddo I made this summer. Definite keeper!

DSCF4013

Frozen Nutella Pie Squares

1/4 cup non-hydrogenated margarine

3/4 cup Nutella (divided into 1/4 and 1/2 cup)

1 cup Oreo cookie crumbs

1/4 cup chopped, roasted hazelnuts

1 (250 g) pkg. Philadelphia Brick Cream Cheese, softened

2-4 Tbsp sugar

2-3 cups Whipped Topping

2 Tbsp. chocolate syrup

Line 8-inch square pan with foil, with ends of foil extending over sides. Microwave margarine and 1/4 cup Nutella in medium microwaveable bowl on HIGH 40 sec.; stir until margarine is melted and mixture is well blended. Stir in crumbs and nuts; press onto bottom of prepared pan.

Beat cream cheese, sugar and remaining 1/2 cup Nutella in large bowl with mixer until well blended. Gently stir in whipped topping; spread over crust.

Drizzle with syrup; swirl with knife. Freeze 3 hours or until firm. Use foil handles to lift dessert from pan before cutting into squares. Top with more whipped topping.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

