RSS Feed

Coconut Oil Hair Treatment

My daughter has fine, whispy baby hair that is just past her shoulders and it’s starting to tangle – a lot! She has a habit of twirling her hair when she’s falling asleep, and the other morning I woke up to find a large quarter sized tangle in her hair. It took about 10 minutes to unravel the thing and I accidentally pulled out a few of her hairs along the way, which definitely did not help her morning attitude. I use all natural shampoo on her hair but not conditioner, but I didn’t want to go buy more expensive “natural” hair products for her so I decided to make my own. I’ve seen this idea of using various hot oils to condition hair, including olive oil, grapeseed, or coconut oil. I had olive oil and coconut oil so I decided to mix both using roughly 1 heaping tablespoon of the coconut oil and a teaspoon of olive oil. I microwaved them to melt the coconut oil and make it warm to the touch but not hot, and put it in Miss M’s hair while was in the bath, working from the tips to about 1 inch from her scalp. I left it in for about 15 minutes then shampooed her hair. I put the leftover oil in my own hair, mostly on the ends. Most people say to put a shower cap on or wrap your hair in plastic wrap, but I didn’t bother. While my daughter was napping I had a shower and washed it out. After our hair dried it looked like both of us hadn’t showered in a month! The oil was still in our hair. I didn’t want to bath her again because she has eczema and too much bathing can irritate her skin, so I just left it like that until the next day. (We didn’t go anywhere so we didn’t need to be presentable for anything).  I had to wash our hair 3 times to remove the oil! But it worked. Her hair is much softer and has less tangles. My ends definitely feel smoother as well. If you’re curious, give it a try!

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

One response »

  1. Nice Information, thanks for sharing. Hope we will read many other good things from you in future also. Regards

    Reply

Leave a Reply

