RSS Feed

Salted Caramel Pots De Creme

I had egg yolks left over from when I made the meringue for the French Macarons so I decided to make Salted Caramel Pots De Creme. I had never made caramel using this method so when the sugar started to melt it looked like it was going to burn so I quickly threw the cream in there. I think I gave in too soon because when the cream was incorporated it didn’t have much colour or scent of caramel. I tried adding more brown sugar, hoping it would heighten the flavor but I don’t really know if it worked. To learn how to make the caramel properly I should have watched this video! I also accidentally added a whole in vanilla bean instead of half so it overwhelms the caramel a little. The final result isn’t exactly what I was looking for but it’s still a nice treat. I will have to put this in my “Someday I WILL be victorious!” pile! I think this weekend I was always in a rush for some reason and I overlooked some key points of my recipes, which you can’t afford to do when you’re making something like macarons or pot de creme. Oh well. Live and learn. I’m taking the failure of Chocopalooza as a sign that next year I will actually be able to celebrate Valentine’s Day instead 😉

photo (14)

Salted Caramel Pots De Creme

PREP TIME 5HRS 10 MINS COOKING TIME 1 HRS SERVES 8

Ingredients
4 tablespoons (½ stick) unsalted butter
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 vanilla bean, split lengthwise
1 3/4 cups heavy cream
3/4 cup whole milk
6 large egg yolks
Flaky sea salt, such as Maldon, for garnish

Directions
1 Position a rack in the center of the oven and preheat the oven to 325°F. Place eight 1/2-cup (4-ounce) ovenproof cups, custard cups, or ramekins in a large baking pan.

2 In a large heavy saucepan, melt the butter over medium heat. Whisk in the brown sugar and kosher salt. Using the tip of a small sharp knife, scrape the vanilla seeds from the bean, add to the butter mixture, and drop in the bean too. Stir for about 5 minutes, or until the mixture has the texture of thick sand and has taken on a nutty, caramel fragrance.

3 Reduce the heat to medium-low and gradually whisk in the cream. The mixture will bubble vigorously and will seize when the cream is added. Whisk for about 5 minutes, oruntil the hardened sugar bits dissolve and the mixture begins to boil. Remove the pan from the heat and whisk in the milk.

4 In a large bowl, stir the egg yolks to blend. Gradually whisk in the warm caramel mixture.Strain the custard through a fine-mesh sieve into a 4-cup liquid measuring cup or a bowl with a spout. Pour the custard into the cups, dividing it equally. Cover the pan with aluminum foil, leaving one corner uncovered. Place the pan in the oven and carefully pour enough hot water into the pan to come halfway up the sides of the cups, then coverthe open corner with the foil. Bake the custards for about 50 minutes, or until they are just set around the edges but still jiggle slightly when the cups are gently shaken. (Be very careful of escaping steam when you uncover the pan.)

5 Remove the cups from the pan and transfer to a wire rack to cool, about 1 hour. Cover each cup with plastic wrap and refrigerate until chilled, at least 4 hours, or up to 2 days.

6 Sprinkle a pinch of sea salt over each pot de crème and serve chilled.

Make-A-Head: The pots de crème can be refrigerated for up to 2 days.

Original Recipe by Chef Curtis Stone here. 

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

