RSS Feed

Peanut Sauce Chicken and Pasta Bowl

I didn’t do much cooking this past week because I’ve been trying to eat all the leftovers that have been accumulating in my freezer. Last night I found some poached chicken breast so I defrosted that and made a peanut sauce to go with. (I went easy on the spices so that my toddler could eat it.) Then I sautéed some onion and garlic, added the chicken, mixed up the sauce,  added it to the pan to heat, and served the mixture over small pasta shells. It turned out quite well. My 2.5 year old loved it and that’s saying a lot because she’s been very fussy as of late! It’s a versatile recipe that can be used to dress up just about anything but is especially good with chicken and noodles.

peanutpasta

Peanut Sauce

1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
1/2 cup water
2 tablespoons lime juice
1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper (cayenne), if desired
2 cloves garlic, finely chopped

Directions

In 1-quart saucepan, mix all ingredients with wire whisk. Heat over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until smooth and warm.
Use sauce immediately, or cover and refrigerate up to 3 days or freeze up to 2 months.

Source: Betty Crocker Big Red Cookbook, 11th edition

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

One response »

  1. Looks really good! Maybe something my picky toddler would eat as well. Thanks for the recipe!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

