RSS Feed

Peanut Sesame Noodles – Take 2

I’ve buying a lot of meat in bulk lately because the “family packs” are usually cheaper and I can have meat in the freezer for whenever without having to make a trek to the grocery store. They had chicken breasts on a sale a while back so I roasted the whole works and popped it in the freezer. It’s been there for a while and I didn’t want it to get freezer burnt so I needed to find a quick and easy way to make use of it. Little Miss M is still being a typical 2 year old, not wanting to eat anything but cheerios. She liked the peanut noodles I made a couple of months ago so I was hoping I would have luck with this version. She sniffed it, turned her head away and yelled “NO!”, dashing my dreams of her eating real food for dinner. 😦 I loved it though! I couldn’t scarf it down fast enough! Dangerous when I’m supposed to be trying to lose weight.

The original recipe is vegetarian but I quickly sauteed the veggies then shredded a cooked chicken breast and added it to pan. Once it was heated all way through I tossed everything together. Oh man it was good! Putting the dressing in the blender is the key to having a luxuriously smooth sauce. Perfectly balanced flavours and amazing mouth feel. Love it!

photo (18)

Peanut Sesame Noodles

ingredients

For peanut dressing
1/2 cup smooth peanut butter
1/4 cup soy sauce
1/3 cup warm water
2 tablespoons chopped peeled fresh ginger
1 medium garlic clove, chopped
2 tablespoons red-wine vinegar
1 1/2 tablespoons Asian sesame oil
2 teaspoons honey
1 teaspoon dried hot red pepper flakes

For noodle salad
3/4 lb dried linguine fini or spaghetti
4 scallions, thinly sliced
1 red bell pepper, cut into 1/8-inch-thick strips
1 yellow bell pepper, cut into 1/8-inch-thick strips
3 tablespoons sesame seeds, toasted
preparation

Make dressing:
Purée dressing ingredients in a blender until smooth, about 2 minutes, then transfer to a large bowl.

Make salad:
Cook pasta in a 6- to 8-quart pot of boiling salted water until tender. Drain in a colander, then rinse well under cold water.

Add pasta, scallions, bell peppers, and sesame seeds to dressing, tossing to combine, and serve immediately.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

2 responses »

  1. Oh man that looks/sounds delicious.

    Reply
  2. Can’t wait to try this!! It looks and sounds amazing. Maybe my 3 year old will also like it? Minus the veggies of course. Oh toddlers, such a joy…………..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

