RSS Feed

Chickpea and Flatbread Salad

As promised, here is one of my healthier recipes. Although, if you take a look at the nutritional information it’s not exactly low calorie but it is nutritious. I don’t think you actually need that much dressing. I may have used a tablespoon on my serving so that will cut down on calories.  I made a few substitutions as well so I can’t exactly vouch for the original recipe. I didn’t have any tomatoes on hand so I used orange peppers, and I left out the mint because I’m not a fan of putting mint in anything but chocolate or gum. lol I also didn’t have arugula and am not a big fan so I substituted it with baby spinach. This salad is a version of fattoush, a Middle Eastern bread salad. If you can’t find lavash bread, substitute pita bread, but split it before toasting. I didn’t bother splitting and toasting my pita – I just tore it as needed and topped with the salad. For something so simple it really is good. I went back for seconds. Sadly, I forgot to take a pic so here’s what it’s supposed to look like.

 

Flatbread Salad with Tomato, Chickpeas, Feta, and Mint

Serves 4

Ingredients:

5 oz. lavash or pita bread

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice (from 2 small lemons)
1 medium shallot, minced (about 3 Tbs.)
1/2 tsp. granulated sugar
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
7 Tbs. extra-virgin olive oil
1/3 cup packed, finely chopped fresh mint
1 15-oz. can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
8 oz. cherry tomatoes, halved (about 1-1/2 cups)
6 oz. sugar snap peas, trimmed and quartered on a diagonal (about 1-3/4 cups)
6 oz. feta, crumbled (about 1 heaping cup)
3 oz. baby arugula (3 packed cups)
2 Tbs. minced Peppadew peppers (optional)

Position a rack in the center of the oven and heat the oven to 350°F. Bake the lavash on the oven rack until lightly browned, 4 to 7 minutes; let cool (it will crisp as it cools).

Meanwhile, whisk the lemon juice, shallot, sugar, a large pinch of salt, and a couple of grinds of pepper in a small bowl. Let sit for 10 minutes, then whisk in the olive oil and mint. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Combine the chickpeas, tomatoes, and snap peas in a large bowl. Toss with the vinaigrette. Coarsely crumble the lavash over the top. Add the feta, arugula, and peppers, if using, and gently toss to combine. Serve immediately.

nutrition information (per serving): Calories (kcal): 600; Fat (g): fat g 38; Fat Calories (kcal): 340; Saturated Fat (g): sat fat g 10; Protein (g): protein g 23; Monounsaturated Fat (g): 20; Carbohydrates (g): carbs g 48; Polyunsaturated Fat (g): 4; Sodium (mg): sodium mg 1130; Cholesterol (mg): cholesterol mg 40; Fiber (g): fiber g 14

Source: http://www.finecooking.com/recipes/flatbread-salad-tomato-chickpeas-feta-mint.aspx

 

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

