RSS Feed

The quest for PERFECT vanilla cupcakes

Over the span of about a month I made 3 different recipes in the quest to find the perfect vanilla cupcakes and cakes for my daughter’s birthday. I thought I would share the reviews with you guys.

“Perfect Vanilla Cupcakes” Recipe by Glorious Treats. I baked these for 18 minutes and found it was a little too long and they weren’t as moist as I would have liked. They weren’t too sweet which is not a bad thing when topping with super rich buttercream for example. I might try this one again sometime and bake for 16-17 minutes instead and see what happens.

“The Cake Boss’ Vanilla Cake” posted on Rachael Ray’s website. I didn’t realize this until I had already made them, but it’s the same recipe as “Simple Vanilla Cake” that I found on Babble a few years ago! Be careful not to over bake as well. My oven was running to hot and I didn’t realize it until I bought an oven thermometer. Also, be sure to use a very mild tasting oil like canola or the oil flavour will come through. I used Unico Vegetable oil which lists canola and/or soybean oil as the ingredients so I don’t know if it’s the soybean oil that was a little too overpowering for this recipe.

“Mini Vanilla Cupcakes” by Ricardo (bilingual Quebecois celebrity chef). Ricardo is mesmerizing to watch and apparently the Quebecois ladies love him. He’s got brand recognition all across Canada through the food network. He has his own magazine in French but this month he will be launching the English version!

I made this recipe using two sets of mini cakes – one non-stick set and silicon pans from a children’s baking set I found at Dollarama. I baked them for 17 minutes, with the pans on a cookie sheet on the middle rack. All of the pans worked beautifully and the cakes were delicious! They were perfectly sweet and unlike some of the other recipes, I could not taste the flour, eggs, or oil. The texture was sturdy but soft. I had a little batter leftover so I made 4 cupcakes using an ice cream scoop as a measure, and baked them for 16 minutes and they were also tender and delicious.  I have no complaints whatsoever. This is the recipe I ultimately used to make Malia’s birthday cake and cupcakes. Unfortunately, I baked her cake for a little to long and it turned out a little too dense. They are also not quite as good the next day so make sure you serve them right after they cool. I highly recommend this recipe.

bdaycake

A screen capture from her birthday video. I really wanted to put Frozen figurines on top of the cake but they are no where to be found! They’re sold out everywhere apparently.

Vanilla Cake for Mini Cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

30 muffin paper liners of various sizes
1 1/2 cups (375 ml) unbleached all-purpose flour
1 1/2 teaspoons (7.5 ml) baking powder
1/4 teaspoon (1 ml) salt
2 eggs
1 cup (250 ml) sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons (7.5 ml) vanilla extract
6 tablespoons (90 ml) canola oil
2/3 cup (150 ml) milk

PREPARATION
With the rack in the middle position, preheat the oven to 180 °C (350 °F). Place the paper liners on a baking sheet (one size per sheet). Set aside.

In a bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.,

In another bowl, beat the eggs with the sugar and vanilla with an electric mixer for about 10 minutes or until the mixture lightens, triples in volume and forms a ribbon. Drizzle in the oil, beating constantly.

On low speed, add the dry ingredients alternately with the milk, until smooth. With an ice cream scoop, fill three quarter up the paper liners with batter. Bake for about 10 to 15 minutes, depending on their size, or until a toothpick inserted in the centre of the cake comes out clean. Let cool completely.

With a pastry bag fitted with a fluted or plain tube, frost the cupcakes with the Mango or Raspberry Frosting. Garnish with a scoop of mango or a fresh raspberry.

NOTE: If you make standard sized cupcakes, place the paper liners in a muffin cup pan to prevent them from flaring while baking. If you bake two or three sizes of cupcakes, make sure to bake sheets of all of the same size cakes.

Cake directions: http://www.ricardocuisine.com/recipes/5165-vanilla-cake-the-ultimate- 

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

One response »

  1. Pingback: Frozen’s Elsa Birthday Cake | Heather's Homemade

Leave a Reply

