RSS Feed

Chef Michael Smith’s Newest Cookbook

My new favourite cookbook is Chef Michael Smith, Family Meals. I saw it at my local grocery store, quickly skimmed through it and found that I wanted to make a good 75% of the recipes in it! Impressive – so I bought it. He also includes some helpful tips on organizing your kitchen and packing school snacks. There are slow cooker recipes, quick recipes, big batch recipes, some vegetarian options, and some innovative sides that don’t need any special ingredients, which I love.  He has a knack for taking something simple and adding a yummy twist, such as the Smoked Salmon Brunch Biscuits which combines chive biscuits, Boursin dill sauce, and browned butter scrambled eggs. It sounds super fancy but it doesn’t require any super human effort to make and I have a feeling it will be all worth it in the end. Mmmmmm!!!! I should try this recipe next week actually.

There are also a couple of versions of burgers I’d like to try – Nacho burgers and Sausage Burgers. Another neat thing about his book is the index in the back. In addition to a printed version he has included just photos of each dish with the corresponding page. I’m a visual person so I really love this!

A couple of days ago I got home late and didn’t feel like making an elaborate meal so I flipped through the pages and found this recipe for Sweet Potato Chickpea Stew. This is also a vegan option with Thai inspired flavours. I went light on the curry powder because I’m not a super huge fan and the final result was fabulous! I tried it with and without the lime juice and I like it without better. It really mutes the coconut milk so be careful with how much you add. I’ll be making this again for sure. At the bottom of the post I’ve included a recipe for homemade curry powder.

photo (23)

Sweet Potato Chickpea Stew

Ingredients:

2 Tbsp vegetable oil

1 large onion, diced
4 cloves garlic, chopped
2 Tbsp curry powder
2 sweet potatoes, cubed
1 19 ounce can chickpeas
1 14 ounce can coconut milk
4 cups of water
1 tsp salt
cups frozen green peas
a pint of cherry tomatoes halved
1/2 tsp of your favourite hot sauce
the zest and juice of one lime
a handful of fresh cilantro sprigs

Instructions:

Add the vegetable oil to a stockpot over medium-high heat. Toss in the onion and garlic and sauté them until they’re softened, about 5 minutes or so. Add the curry powder and continue cooking until the spices are heated through and fragrant, another few minutes.Add the sweet potatoes, chickpeas, water, and salt. Bring to a simmer, lower the heat and continue simmering until the sweet potatoes are tender, about 20 minutes. Stir in the coconut milk, peas, and tomatoes. Continue cooking just long enough to heat everything through. Season with the hot sauce and lime zest and juice. Serve and share with the cilantro sprinkled over every bowl.
 

I didn’t have any curry powder on hand so I did a quick search and found this recipe on food.com. I winged it, with a sprinkle of this and that and it turned out really well actually.

Homemade Curry Powder Mix

2 teaspoons ground cumin

2 teaspoons ground coriander

2 teaspoons ground turmeric

1 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

2 responses »

  1. This looks delicious. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: 300th post! Best of the Best Recipes | Heather's Homemade

Leave a Reply

