RSS Feed

Maple-Walnut Apple Crisp

OMG! *Drool drool drool* You wouldn’t expect something so simple  – and something from Cooking Light – to be so drool worthy! It’s seriously the best apple crisp I’ve ever made. I left out the walnuts actually, used Gala apples for the filling which ended up freshly sweet and lovely, and the crisp was no dry or soggy or bland, it was sweet, lightly spiced and well…crisp. Perfect dessert, especially when topped with vanilla ice cream. My buddy Mr. M and I inhaled two oversized servings each and I sent him home with a bunch. I didn’t want it in the house tempting me but now I’m regretting it. It would have made a decadent breakfast.

I also packed some into a Tupperware to give to my Mom tonight who happens to be in town for a couple of days. Apple desserts are her favourite so I have a feeling she’s going to love this. So I forgot to take a pretty pic, and now all I have is some cold crisp crammed into a Tupperware container so I’ll spare you the visual details and just include the image from the magazine. I just noticed this photo features a plate of crisp with two forks, presumably for a couple of people to share this serving. That’s just plain ridiculous. Not gonna happen  people. I guarantee you will want one than one serving. To be realistic, they should show someone scarfing down half the pan! lol

apple crisp

Image: Cooking Light Magazine

Maple-Walnut Apple Crisp

1/3 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
1/3 cup regular oats
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 cup chilled butter or stick margarine, cut into small pieces
3 tablespoons chopped walnuts
7 cups sliced peeled Rome apple (about 3 pounds)
1/4 cup maple syrup
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Preparation:
Preheat oven to 375°.

Lightly spoon flour into a dry measuring cup; level with a knife. Combine flour, sugar, oats, and 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon in a medium bowl; cut in butter with a pastry blender or 2 knives until mixture is crumbly. Stir in walnuts.

Combine apple and remaining ingredients in a large bowl; toss well. Spoon apple mixture into an 8-inch square baking dish or 1 1/2-quart casserole. Sprinkle with crumb mixture. Bake at 375° for 45 minutes or until golden brown. Serve warm.

Nutritional Information:

Calories: 208
Calories from fat: 31%
Fat: 7.1g
Saturated fat: 3.4g
Monounsaturated fat: 1.9g
Polyunsaturated fat: 1.3g
Protein: 1.8g
Carbohydrate: 36.5g
Fiber: 2.3g
Cholesterol: 14mg
Iron: 0.9mg
Sodium: 58mg
Calcium: 27mg

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

One response »

  1. Pingback: 300th post! Best of the Best Recipes | Heather's Homemade

Leave a Reply

