RSS Feed

No Velveeta Queso Dip

A couple of weeks ago I made steak fajitas for dinner and as an appetizer I served tortilla chips with this queso dip. It was very easy to make but I found the grease separated from the cheese so I had pools of it around the edge of the pan. I don’t know what I did wrong but I suspect the oven was too hot and I left it in there too long. I ended up pouring off some of the grease and then stirring up the dip, which seemed to reincorporate it for the most part. Taste wise it was quite good. I only added a touch of peppers because I don’t like super spicy food so lots of cheesy flavour came through. I would try making this again.

Of course, I’m the worst food blogger when it comes to taking photos. As I mentioned just after Christmas, my new camera was defective and I lost the receipt so I couldn’t return it šŸ˜¦ I’m stuck without a decent camera and I keep forgetting to take pics with the camera I do have. So…sorry. Here’s the recipe. šŸ˜‰ Teehee!

 

White Queso Dip

INGREDIENTS:

2 8-ounce packages cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup mayonnaise
2 cups grated Monterey Jack cheese
2 cups grated Parmesan
1 can Rotel Diced Tomatoes with Green Chiles, drained
1/2 teaspoon salt

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
Add all of the ingredients to a large bowl and mix well to combine.
Spread cheese into an 8×8 baking dish and bake for 20 minutes or until hot and bubbly.
Serve with tortilla chips.

Adapted from Reckless Abandon
Read more at http://www.bunsinmyoven.com/2013/01/17/creamy-white-queso-dip-no-velveeta-needed/#puKIdBZG8LkMWAw7.99

 

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

