RSS Feed

Quick Chicken Lazone

As I mentioned, I am still recovering from knee surgery. Monday, I had my follow-up with the surgeon and he’s very pleased with my progress. I can hobble around pretty well and slowly get up and down stairs now, but I still try to avoid standing for long periods. That’s why I’m still searching for quick dinner ideas. I remembered this recipe I had pinned a year or more ago and decided to give it a try. I cut down on the spice quite a bit because I was hoping Miss M. would like it. No dice. I thought it was quite good though. Very rich and not something you’d want to eat more than a few times a year. Apparently it’s from Brennan’s restaurant in New Orleans. I think it’s kind of like a Tex Mex /Cajun/Creole Alfredo sauce perhaps. I would definitely make it again, but only as part of a low-carb diet, serving it over cauliflower rice or with a side of low starch veg. Give it a try!

IMG_0922

Chicken Lazone

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 tsp chili powder

1 1/2 tsp onion powder

2 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

2 lb chicken tenders

1/4 cup butter, divided

2 cups heavy cream

Combine salt, chili powder, onion powder, garlic powder, and cayenne pepper. Sprinkle over both sides of chicken tenders.

In large saute pan, melt half of the butter over medium-high heat. Cook the chicken tenders until done, about 8 minutes.

Pour the cream and remaining butter into the skillet. Lower heat and simmer until the sauce thickens, about 5-7 minutes. Serve chicken and sauce over pasta or mashed potatoes, if desired.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

