RSS Feed

Speedy Chicken Carbonara

I had some rotisserie chicken leftover and wanted to do something special with it, but not have to slave over a hot stove half the afternoon, so I flipped through my Company’s Coming cookbook, The Essential Guys’ Cookbook and found this simple recipe for Chicken Carbonara. On a side note, I had planned on getting the book for my brother but I liked it so much, I kept it! lol And I’m slightly embarrassed to admit that up until a couple of years ago, my only knowledge of chicken carbonara came from my addiction to the Lean Cuisine frozen dinner version! I’ve made carbonara sauce once before but I believe this recipe is more flavourful than either of those! lol I didn’t have any chili paste so I added a couple of drops of Sriracha. I think it turned out quite well because Mr. M requested the recipe. 🙂

Photo: Food Network

Speedy Chicken Carbonara

12 oz (340g) spaghetti
4 egg yolks
1/2 cup (125ml) grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 cup (60ml) finely chopped, fresh parsley
1/2 tsp (2ml) chili paste (sambal olek)
6 slices of bacon
1 1/2 cups (375ml) chopped cooked chicken
1 cup (250ml) chicken broth, heated

Cook pasta according to package directions. Drain and return to same pot. Cover to keep warm.
Combine next four ingredinets in a small bowl. Set aside.
Cook bacon in a large frying pan on medium until crisp. Remove with slotted spoon to paper towels to drain. Drain and discard all but 1 Tbsp (15ml) dripping from pan.
Add chicken and pasta to same frying pan. Reduce heat to medium-low and cook, stirring, for about 2 minutes until heated through.
Whisk hot broth into egg mixture. Add to pasta mixture. Add bacon, Toss to coat. Serve immediately.

1 cup= 330 calories

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

