RSS Feed

Inuit Fried Bannock

I must apologize for not being around lately. As I mentioned a while back, I re-injured my knee and had to get surgery. Unfortunately, I wasn’t very diligent with doing my post-op exercises and now I need physiotherapy 😦 I still haven’t been cooking much. One of the only new things I’ve tried making has been this Inuit style fried bannock. There are different types of bannock – baked, shallow pan fried or this recipe which is basically deep fried but in about an inch or inch and a half of hot oil. I would go so far as to call these Inuit donuts. They’re super crispy and yummy on the outside! The first batch I made was a little too big so they were too doughy on the inside, but the second batch was pretty good. I look forward to perfecting these in the future 😉

photo (32)

Inuit Fried Bannock

3 cups flour

3 Tbsp. baking powder

1 1/2 tsp salt

1 Tbsp. sugar

1-2 cups of water

Vegetable oil for frying

Heat an inch of oil in a deep, wide frying pan, to about 365 degrees (the oil will appear to ripple). Mix dry ingredients together then slowly add about 1 cup of water and mix, adding drizzles of the remaining water until it makes a sticky, goopy dough.  Carefully place rounded tablespoons of the dough into the hot oil and fry on each side, about 2-4 minutes until brown. Drain on paper towels. Serve with butter and jam.

For variety, you can try adding a couple of handfuls of raisins or other dried fruit to the dough. Frozen berries also work well.

This recipe was given to me by a woman from Coral Harbour, Nunavut.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

