RSS Feed

Cinnamon Toast

I really look forward to weekends because that’s when I have time to really prepare my food, or if I’m lucky, go out for brunch. That’s exactly what we did on Saturday. Then we went shopping at Winners for a little butterfly couch for my daughter. My Dad saw a pic I took of her admiring it and he decided to send a little money along so that I could surprise her with it. She was jumping up and down with excitement when we left the store! That evening we got home late and we still full from our big breakfast feast so I made pan fried salmon with steamed veggies on the side for dinner, and for dessert I made this. It’s super fast and so simple, although I’m thinking it’s just as unhealthy as cupcakes when you look at the amount of butter and sugar. Probably not something to eat every day but nice on a cold winter’s evening. It was so yummy we gobbled it up before I could take a pic. I scaled the recipe down for 2 adults with sweet teeth. 😉

Cinnamon Toast

4 slices of bread
1/2 stick butter softened
1/4 cup Sugar (more To Taste)
1/2 rounded teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon Vanilla Extract (more To Taste)
pinch of Ground Nutmeg (optional)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Smush softened butter with a fork. Dump in sugar, cinnamon, vanilla and nutmeg, if using. Stir to completely combine. Spread on slices of bread, completely covering the surface all the way to the edges.
Place toast on a cookie sheet. Place cookies sheet into the oven and bake for 10 minutes. Turn on the broiler and broil until golden brown and bubbling. Watch so it won’t burn! Remove from oven and cut slices into halves diagonally.

Source: The Pioneer Woman

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

