RSS Feed

Garlic Mashed Potatoes with Chives

I really am late getting my posts up. I was so sick last week I was afraid to be alone because I had such a terrible headache I suspected an aneurysm. And Valentine’s Day / Chocopalooza was a pretty much a bust. I tried making red velvet pancakes by combining a buttermilk pancake with some cocoa powder and food colouring and it was a rubbery, disgusting mess. I tried sneaking a little into my daughter and Little Miss was not impressed. She came out to the kitchen with her mouth open and chewed pancake on her tongue. “Yucky!!” I told her it was a new recipe and every weekend since she asks if it’s a new recipe or an old recipe for her Saturday morning pancakes. This past weekend I tried Ricardo’s oatmeal pancakes and they were also gross. Too cooked on the outside and gummy on the inside. I do not recommend them.

But back to Chocopalooza – I made a brunch blowout and invited Mr. M over, (will post a recipe soon) then for dinner I made steak and garlic mashed potatoes, which was a big hit. For dessert I just ate Godiva chocolates. At least the steak and spuds were great! The potatoes were super creamy and flavourful. They have been my go-to special occassion side for the past 10 years. I hope you like them too.

photo (2)

Garlic Mashed Potatoes with Chives

INGREDIENTS

1 head of garlic
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 1/2 pounds red-skinned potatoes, peeled, cut into 1-inch pieces
1/2 cup whipping cream
1/4 cup (1/2 stick) butter
2 tablespoons sour cream
1/4 cup chopped fresh chives

PREPARATION

Preheat oven to 425°F. Cut top 1/4 inch off head of garlic to expose tops of cloves. Place in small baking dish. Spoon oil over; sprinkle with salt and pepper. Cover dish tightly with aluminum foil. Bake until garlic cloves are tender, about 45 minutes. Squeeze garlic cloves from skins and mash in small bowl.

Cook potatoes in heavy large pot of boiling salted water until very tender, about 18 minutes. Drain; return to pot. Stir over low heat to allow excess water to evaporate. Add whipping cream, butter, sour cream, and roasted garlic and mash together. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Stir in chives and serve.

Source: Bon Appetit magazine, September 2003.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

