RSS Feed

Cuisinart Griddler + Steak Marinade

Life has been absolutely insane lately. I work at a non-profit and the end of the fiscal year is beyond stressful. Last week we were pestering people to fill out participant forms and I had to work at home a few hours last weekend just to get the year end report done before the last day of my contract on the 31st. I wasn’t keen on cooking when I got home from work, and my 3.5 year old is on the chicken fingers and fries kick again. I’ve made some old standbys and ordered pizza more than once in the past 2-3 weeks. But I do still make a mean breakfast on the weekend. I got a Cuisinart Griddler for Christmas and also invested in the waffle plates. Love it! I find it still takes about 7-8 minutes to make a waffle, rather than the 3-4 they suggest, and I’ve made steaks on it a couple of times now and I have no complaints. The only thing to watch out for is bone-in meats. The plates will make contact with the bones but not the meat and it won’t brown properly. Last weekend I made a version of “Classic Marinade for Steaks” from my Cook’s Illustrated cookbook. I subbed onion powder for the chives, and garlic powder for the minced garlic but it still turned out quite well.

Classic Marinade for Steaks

(Makes about a cup. Enough for 4-5 individual steaks or one 2 pound steak.)

1/2 cup low sodium soy sauce
1/3 cup extra light olive oil
1/4 cup Worcestershire sauce
2 tablespoons packed dark brown sugar
2 very generous tablespoons minced green onion
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 1/2 teaspoons pepper
2 generous teaspoons balsamic vinegar

Combine all ingredients except balsamic vinegar. Transfer 1/4 cup marinade to bowl and stir in vinegar: set aside. Place remaining marinade and steaks in 1 gallon ziplock bag, press out as much air as possible, and seal the bag. Refrigerate for an hour, turning halfway through to ensure even marination. Remove steaks from marinade, letting any excess drip back into bag. Discard bag & marinade. Grill steaks as desired. Transfer steaks to shallow pan and pour reserved marinade over top. Tent loosely with aluminum foil and let rest 10 minutes, turning meat at the 5 minute mark. Slice steaks or serve whole, pass with reserved marinade if desired.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

