RSS Feed

Guilt Free Brownies

I’ve been pinning like a crazy person this morning and came across this recipe for brownies that I just HAD to try. They’re flourless, sugar-free, and do not contain any weird ingredients like beans or tofu or avocado, just plain stuff you probably already have in your kitchen: bananas, peanut butter, honey, cocoa, chocolate chips, and vanilla. The recipe calls for an 8 x 10 pan, which is weird but I made mine using just an electric mixer, and put them in an 8 x 8 pan then baked them for 35 minutes. The bottom got a little too brown, so I’m not sure if it’s because of the recipe, or if it was me. I have a feeling it might be because of the lack of flour or leavening. I might add some almond flour and cook them at a lower temperature for longer next time. They turned out very gooey. Reading through the original recipe comments I decided to use only one and a half bananas and I’m glad I did. You can definitely taste the banana. I also added 4 Tbsp of cocoa instead of three and they’re still not quite as chocolatey as I would like. Next time I might add another Tbsp to see if that does the trick. These are probably not “lite” since if you cut them into 16 squares, each will have a tablespoon of peanut butter in them which is 100 calories. All in all, it’s a decent recipe that you can play around with and make your own. I ate 2 and didn’t have that need to overeat like with regular brownies, so that alone makes this recipe worth it in my books đŸ™‚

photo

Flourless Chocolate Banana Brownies

1 cup peanut butter
6 ounces banana or 1 1/2 – 2 bananas
¼ cup honey
4 tablespoons cocoa powder
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup chocolate chips

dash of salt

oil for greasing the baking dish (or just use parchment)

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Add the first 6 ingredients to a food processor and process on high until combined, stopping to scrape down the sides of the bowl if necessary. Next, add chocolate chips and pulse several times until the chips are combined. {I just used a cake mixer for the whole thing, mashing the banana first} Spread the brownie mixture evenly in a greased 8 x 10 baking dish and bake for 30-35 minutes. Let cool before serving.
Notes
These brownies taste best when warm. Leftover brownies can be reheated for about 5-7 minutes in a 350 degree oven or toaster oven.

Adapted from: http://www.loveyourselfgreen.com

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

One response »

  1. Yum these look amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

