RSS Feed

Master List of the BEST Cookbooks

Ever since I really started cooking non-diet food about 6 years ago, I’ve been scouring the internet, looking for the best cookbooks for the home cook. I’ve come across a ton of recommendations from many trusted sources including:  Huffington Post, Food52, Stylist, Cooking Light, Food and Wine, the Food Network, Good Housekeeping, and Chatelaine Magazine. Most of these were recommended by well known, professional chefs. I took note of when I cookbook was mentioned by more than one of these sources and made this master list. If you’re looking for a new cookbook for either yourself, or as a wedding gift, or housewarming gift, any of these would be a great choice – or perhaps the beginning of a cookbook addiction. Not that I’m speaking from experience or anything. 😉

Note: I apologize for the images. In the editor they look normal, but when I post they go out of whack. I have no idea how to fix them.

Joy of cooking  

Joy of Cooking

The Silver Palate Cookbook. I don’t have this one but you can find some of their more popular recipes online such as their Ratatouille or Chicken Marbella. Epicurious is a great source for recipes.

Cook’s Illustrated Cookbook. This is the only one I have so far and it’s quite comprehensive, although it doesn’t have any photographs. It does have some drawings which illustrate various techniques and the inside of the covers are filled with lovely fruit and vegetable illustrations.

The Fannie Farmer cookbook. My library only had the older version and it was set aside for conservation, if I remember correctly. Here’s hoping they manage to find another one and I’ll report back later.

Julia Child: Mastering the Art of French Cooking

The Barefoot Contessa Cookbook. I’ve made one recipe from Ina for cheddar biscuits and they were really good.

Martha’s Entertaining: A Year of Celebrations.

Bouchon

James Beard’s American Cookery

The Art of Simple Food

Plenty (Vegetarian)

The Silver Spoon

The Moosewood Cookbook (vegetarian)

Baking From my Home to Yours

Maida Heatter’s Book of Great Desserts

The New York Times Cookbook – from the New York Times I’ve made splayed chicken in a skillet and it was yummy.

How to Cook Everything. There is an app you can get with free basic recipes if  you’re curious. I’ve made a stew, no knead bread and some blondies, all of which were quite good.

The French Laundry Cookbook

Ad Hoc at Home

The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook. This is one of the most recent cookbooks which was created by the well known blogger. There are hundreds of recipes on her blog: http://smittenkitchen.com/recipes/

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

