RSS Feed

Cashew Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

For all you gluten free peeps, here’s an absolutely amazing recipe for flourless chocolate chip cookies! I am trying to eat healthier once again so treats with less flour and sugar are a good substitute for what I normally eat. I substituted half the sugar with Truvia sweetener, which I didn’t realize until later was actually double what I should have added since it’s twice as sweet as sugar. When I was mixing the batter it got really clumpy and the fats separated. I thought I had ruined them for sure but I didn’t want to waste a $7 jar of cashew butter so I went ahead and baked them. So glad I did! They came together and came out soft and gooey, sweet and decadent. OOOh yaaa baby! Just the way I like them. This one’s going in the “All-star Vault”.

IMG_1135

IMG_1134

Flourless Cashew Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients

1/2 cup coconut sugar (or brown sugar)
1 large egg
1 cup cashew butter
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Set aside.
In a large bowl with a handheld electric mixer, beat sugar, egg, cashew butter, vanilla, baking soda, and salt until smooth. Stir in chocolate chips. (dough will be slightly sticky)
Roll cookie dough into 1-in balls and place 2-in apart on prepared baking sheets. Bake cookies at 350F 10-11 minutes (cookies will appear very soft in the middle—this ok)
Cool cookies on baking sheet 10 minutes, then transfer to a wire cooling rack to cool completely.
Notes: Store cookies in an airtight container at room temperature up to 5 days.

 

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

3 responses »

  1. kristenchan0921

    I’ve never tried using cashew butter before! I’ll have to give your recipe a try 😉

    Reply
  2. Pingback: 300th post! Best of the Best Recipes | Heather's Homemade

  3. Pingback: Day 189 – | A new thing a day keeps the boredom away

Leave a Reply

