RSS Feed

300th post! Best of the Best Recipes

I can’t believe I’m at the 300 posts mark! A lot has changed in the last 3 years or so. Going over some of my earlier posts and remembering what it was like to be at home with a baby trying to cook while she was napping, and now she’s watching video clips on YouTube by herself while I make dinner, it’s crazy how time flies. I’ve been going through all my recipes to see what I’ve learned and decided to make an “All Stars” list of the best recipes I’ve come across so far. (Being the hockey fan that I am, I had to make a sports analogy.) Most of the recipes are desserts. So much for it being all about balance! lol Well, pretty much anything I made with beef turned out really well so if you click on that keyword you will also get some great recipes. Poke around in here and see what you can find. The whole reason I made this blog was to try out recipes so that you don’t have to. It’s also great for sharing recipes with my family back in Newfoundland and Labrador, or storing Labrador recipes online. One of my most popular recipes has been the copycat Mary Brown’s Fried Chicken, followed by Jigg’s Dinner, and Toutons (fried bread dough).

I’ve also made a list of things I hope to make in the near future. It’s hard to believe I have yet to find the best recipe for cinnamon buns or brownies, for example, and the best pizza dough has eluded me. I’ve made meatballs but they’re not nearly as amazing as my exe’s Mom’s recipe for slow cooked Italian Meatballs. My daughter is a strawberry ice cream fiend, so now that the weather is warming up I will be trying to make my own at home. Looks like it’s going to be a busy year!

Happy Mother’s Day! 

bookcase

I might have a slight cookbook obsession. This doesn’t include magazines or the huge Donna Hay cookbook! 

All Star Recipes

Breakfast:
Light Crisp Waffles
Chive Biscuits with Smoked Salmon and Boursin Cheese Sauce
Cheddar biscuits
Nigella’s Instant Pancake Mix

Mains:
Classy Chicken
Stovetop Chicken and Dumplings
Pork Tenderloins with Shallot-Balsamic Sauce
Steaks with Mustard Sauce

Meatless:
Sweet Potato Chickpea Stew
Confetti Kale salad
Spaghetti with Creamy Braised Leeks
Artichoke, Leek, and Taleggio Frittata

Sides:
Fast Scalloped potatoes
Garlic Fries
Maple Pecan Sweet Potatoes
Greek Style Garlic and Lemon Potatoes
Maple Balsamic Brussels Sprouts

Misc:
Classic Dinner Rolls
Tartar sauce
Kansas City Barbecue Sauce
Single Serving Chip Dip (includes group size recipe)
Paper Bag Popcorn
Microwave potato chips

Non-Chocolate Desserts:
Cinnabon Cake
Blueberry Tart
Bailey’s Cupcakes
Maple-Walnut Apple Crisp
Dulce De Leche Cheesecake (caramel)
Best Blondies (chocolate chip squares)

Chocolate Desserts:
Nutella Semifreddo (frozen mousse)
Nutella Cheesecake Swirl No Churn Ice Cream
Mocha Ice Cream Cake
Mars Bar Squares
Chocolate Cupcakes with Chocolate Swiss Meringue Buttercream
Chocolate Chip Cookies
5-Star Bars

Special Diet Desserts:
Cashew Chocolate Chip Cookies (gluten free)
Quinoa Blondies (gluten free)
Vegan Red Velvet Mug Cake
Small Batch Vegan Banana Muffins
Fudge Bites (vegan, sugar free, gluten free)

Some dishes I’d like to try this year:
Best cinnamon buns
Best fudgy brownies
Apple fritters
Strawberry ice cream
Best pizza dough
Best Italian meatballs
Wings
Homemade Tortillas and Tacos
Zucchini noodles
Coq au Vin
Bacon wrapped meatloaf
Baked beans
Angel biscuits
Spinach and artichoke dip
Rösti
Polenta

Hush Puppies
Glazed Pork Belly by Donna Hay
Hot water pastry
Ratatouille from Silver Palate 

Best of Bridge Fruit Cocktail Cake
Chicken Marbella from Silver Palate
Jamie Oliver’s Chicken in Milk
Crack Pie
Tortiere (Québécois meat pie)

 

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

