RSS Feed

Corn, Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole

I’ve been having some health problems lately starting with low iron. I had to get my blood rechecked last week and my iron is back up but I found out I now have high cholesterol. I’m not one for deep fried foods so I was kind of surprised. High cholesterol can also be hereditary and I’ve discovered both my parents and one of my sisters has it too, along with high blood pressure so that’s probably a contributing factor. They check 3 types of cholesterol: 1 good and two types of bad, one of which is influenced a lot by sugar. No surprise that it’s the highest! At least my good cholesterol is also high. But all of this means I have to watch my sugar and saturated fat. The whole “balance” thing needs to start swinging away from the desserts and towards healthier meals.
I went to the library and found this cookbook by Canadian author/entrepreneur Rose Reisman. She has her own healthy food catering company, and she’s often on Canadian TV shows like Cityline talking about healthy eating. I really like the information at the beginning of this book “Rose Reisman’s Family Favourites: Healthy Meals for Those Who Matter Most”. She uses a lot of common ingredients you probably already have in your fridge or cupboard, and most are quite easy to prepare. The first recipe I tried was this one for a vegetarian casserole. The only thing I’m not crazy about is that her measurements are so precise. Instead of one bell pepper or a can of beans she asks you to measure it out by the cup or spoonful, and I didn’t bother and it still turned out well. I purposely made my bland in the hopes that my 3 year old would eat it, but no such luck. Next time I’ll put the full amount of spices and I have a feeling it will be not too hot, and delicious. 🙂

IMG_20150528_193241 IMG_20150528_193309

Corn, Brown Rice and Black Bean Casserole

Prep Time: 15 minutes Cook Time: 45 minutes Serves 6  Make Ahead: Can be made up to a day in advance. Reheat for 10 minutes in a skillet.
2 tsp vegetable oil
2 tsp chopped garlic
1 cup chopped onion
1 cup canned corn, drained
3/4 cup chopped green bell pepper
2 1/2 cups vegetable stock
3/4 cup brown rice
2 tsp minced jalapeño pepper
1 tsp chili powder
1 tsp dried basil
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1 cup black beans, drained and rinsed
1/2 cup tomato sauce (can be store-bought spaghetti sauce)
1/4 cup chopped cilantro
1/3 cup shredded aged cheddar cheese
INSTRUCTIONS
1. Preheat the oven to 400°F.2. Lightly coat a large nonstick saucepan with cooking spray, add the oil and set over medium heat. Add the garlic and onion and sauté for 5 minutes or until the onion is softened. Add the corn and sauté for 8 minutes or just until the corn begins to brown. Add the green pepper and sauté for 3 more minutes.

3. Add the stock, brown rice, jalapeño, chili powder, basil, oregano, black beans and tomato sauce. Cover and simmer for 30 to 35 minutes or until the rice is cooked. Stir in the cilantro.

4. Pour into an ovenproof casserole dish and sprinkle with the cheddar cheese. Bake for 10 minutes or until the cheese melts and the dish is completely heated through.

Calories 226
Protein 7 g
Fat 5.3 g
Saturated Fat 1.8 g
Carbohydrates 38 g
Cholesterol 6 mg
Sodium 480 mg
Fiber 5 gNutrition Watch: Jalapeños are a good source of potassium, which helps regulate heart function and blood pressure.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

