RSS Feed

Pork Medallions with Grainy Mustard Sauce

The last two weeks were crazy busy as I was preparing for four art events – printmaking workshops, an arts festival, an aboriginal art showcase, and a summer solstice/pow wow where I was showing some of my work and doing face painting. I was running around getting last minute art supplies and trying to find a babysitter for Miss M. I had to help set up the art show at 8:00 am, then head half way across town to the library for the workshop, cab it to a second workshop, then bus it back down to the festival. But Westfest is always a lot of fun. It’s one of the opportunities to catch up with a lot of artists and community members I haven’t seen in months. I didn’t find a babysitter but my friend Steve tagged along to give me a hand with my daughter and traipsed about trying to find her beloved chicken fingers and fries. 😀  So now I’m catching up on some food blogging that I didn’t make the time to post last week. Enjoy!

A quick and healthy recipe for dinner was definitely welcome after all that bustling about. I had all the ingredients on hand, it took no time to put together, and the result was delicious! I could probably make this every week and not get sick of it. The grainy mustard is tangy and sweet and really compliments the pork. Love it!

IMG_20150611_212656

Pork Medallions with Grainy Mustard Sauce

Ingredients:
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 (1-pound) pork tenderloin, cut crosswise into 8 slices
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt, divided
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 1/2 tablespoons whole-grain Dijon mustard (such as Maille)
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
1/2 cup unsalted chicken stock
1 teaspoon all-purpose flour

Preparation:

1. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add oil to pan; swirl to coat. Gently flatten pork slices using the palm of your hand. Sprinkle pork with 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/4 teaspoon pepper. Add pork to pan; cook 3 minutes on each side or until desired degree of doneness. Remove pork from pan; keep warm.

2. Add mustard and butter to pan, stirring until butter melts. Add stock and flour to pan, stirring with a whisk. Add remaining 1/4 teaspoon salt and remaining 1/4 teaspoon pepper; bring to a boil. Cook 1 minute or until mixture thickens, scraping pan to loosen browned bits. Serve sauce over pork.

Nutritional Information
Calories 200
Fat 9.5 g
Satfat 3.1 g
Monofat 4.1 g
Polyfat 0.9 g
Protein 26 g
Carbohydrate 2 g
Fiber 0.0 g
Cholesterol 81 mg
Iron 1 mg
Sodium 464 mg
Calcium 10 mg

And if you’re interested in seeing some of my artwork you can visit my website: www.campbellart.ca

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

