RSS Feed

Berry Grunt (Berries topped with sweet dumplings)

Mr. M came over last weekend to bring us to the park for a BBQ picnic but the weather didn’t cooperate. Miss M got overheated and grumpy and we had to bring her home. While she slept Mr. M made barbecued pork steaks and I made this. I’m sorry to say that he brought fresh berries thinking that would be great for dessert, but my tastebuds have been deadened by decades of sugar abuse and I don’t really enjoy fresh berries as much as I should. I often find them too sour and have to add sugar. I’ve never made a “grunt” before and it the name isn’t terribly appetizing, but the description sounded good.

Martha Stewart describes the “grunt”:
A classic grunt is a dumpling-topped fruit dessert that’s cooked on the stove; it is often called a slump. Our grunt has blackberries and raspberries that simmer together. Then dollops of ginger-spiked dumpling batter are added to the pan, to steam in berry juice.

So I went for it, and I’m glad I did. Unlike other baked fruit desserts, this one comes together in about 20 minutes total and it’s quite good. I tried halving it but I don’t think it was the best idea. I wasn’t super accurate with measuring my flour so I think the dumplings ended up a little dense, but the sauce was sweet and the berries retained some of their tartness. I will make this again, using the correct measurements.

We inhaled them so quickly I forgot to take a pic of course. Here’s the image from Martha’s site.

Berry Grunt

1 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon plus a pinch of ground cinnamon
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
Salt
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1/3 cup whole milk, room temperature
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
4 cups raspberries (about 1 1/2 pints)[I used strawberries]
3 cups blackberries (about 1 1/2 pints)
2 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
Heavy cream, for drizzling

Stir together 2 tablespoons sugar and 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon in a small bowl; set aside. Whisk together flour, 2 tablespoons sugar, the baking powder, a pinch of salt, and the ginger in a medium bowl. Stir together milk and butter in a small bowl. Stir milk-butter mixture into the flour mixture. Set batter aside.

Gently fold together the raspberries, blackberries, lemon juice, remaining 3/4 cup sugar, a pinch of salt, the remaining pinch of cinnamon, and 2 tablespoons water in a large bowl. Transfer the berry mixture to a large straight-sided skillet. Cover, and bring to a boil over medium-high heat, stirring occasionally.

Drop 8 large dollops of batter on top of berry mixture using 2 spoons, spacing them evenly. Sprinkle dumplings with the cinnamon-sugar mixture. Cover; reduce heat to medium. Cook until the dumplings are cooked through and juices are bubbling, about 15 minutes. Serve warm, drizzled with cream.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

One response »

  1. kristenskitchencreations

    Yum, this dessert sounds fantastic! It’s the perfect summer treat and your pictures make my mouth water! This is an amazing recipe and I’m so happy you shared it! Also, I’d love it if you could checkout my blog 😉

    https://kristenskitchencreations.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

