RSS Feed

Split Pea Soup

Split pea soup is a staple in Newfoundland and Labrador. I love mine super thick and salty with bits of salt beef (cured navel beef). You can only buy the beef in family sized buckets so I wanted to find a soup recipe that I could make with something more practical for a two person household. The smoked pork hock caught my eye at Farm Boy grocer and I thought “eureka”! But I don’t think my ham hock was two pounds because the soup wasn’t as salt as I like it. It’s a good idea to taste and season as you go, which I should remember for next time. This recipe makes a TON of soup. I gave some to a friend of mine and I still had way too much cluttering up my fridge. I think I’ll try halving the recipe next time. With the addition of salt, it was super yummy! I forgot to take a pic, but I don’t think there’s a way to make pea soup pretty anyway! lol

Split Pea Soup

Makes 8 servings

Ingredients:
8 cups water (more for later if the soup gets too thick)
1 package (16 ounces) dried split peas (2 1/4 cups), sorted and rinsed
1 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
3 medium carrots, cut into 1/4-inch slices (1 1/2 cups)
2 medium stalks celery, finely chopped (1 cup)
1 medium onion, chopped (1/2 cup)
1 ham bone, 2 pounds ham shanks or 2 pounds smoked pork hocks

Directions:

Heat peas and water to boiling in 4-quart Dutch oven. Stir in onion, celery and pepper. Add ham bone. Heat to boiling; reduce heat. Cover and simmer about 1 hour to 1 hr 30 minutes or until peas are tender, stirring occasionally. Add more water if needed.
Remove ham bone; remove ham from bone. Trim excess fat from ham; cut ham into 1/2-inch pieces.
Stir ham and carrots into soup. Heat to boiling; reduce heat. Cover and simmer about 30 minutes or until carrots are tender and soup is desired consistency.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

