RSS Feed

All about BUTTER!

Butter!!!

Why are there so many different ways of measuring butter? Why can’t everything simply be in one measurement because I use a measuring cup to measure pretty much everything – except butter. I use the handy little guide on the side that using a cup as the unit of measure. On my conversion page I have a guide to butter which I’ve used a few times, until I pretty much remember what the conversions are now.

  • Here’s the general conversion for butter: 1 stick = 1/2 cup = 4 oz = 1/4 pound = 8 Tablespoons = 113.5 grams
  • And can you store it on the counter top? For how long?  Yes you can. There has been some debate about just how long you can leave it there. But as a general rule, according to stilltasty.com you can leave it out for 1-2 days before it goes bad.
  • What’s the best way to soften or thaw butter? This site has a number of tips including shredding frozen butter – DairyGoodness.ca  You can use the shredded butter in this great biscuit recipe by Chef Michael Smith – Chive Biscuits
  • And what in the heck is browned butter, or clarified butter? How do you make that? For those answers I headed to YouTube because I’m a visual learner and I want to see exactly how it’s done. I found these two helpful videos:
  • How to clarify butter, by Martha Stewart Kitchen Cunundrums https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rt4eoqdXQdk
  • How to brown butter, by America’s Test Kitchen https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P-eLe2zuTyQ
  • Want to know which butters taste best on bread? The Kitchn did a taste test of American brands: Butter Taste Test
  • Which is better for you, butter or margarine? Margarine has been given a makeover in the past few years and the debate is still ongoing. Here’s a great article from the Globe And Mail – Butter vs. Margarine
  • Can I make my own butter? Definitely. Here’s my post from last year describing how to make butter in a stand mixer: Homemade Butter

I hope this is useful to you 🙂

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

