RSS Feed

Lighter Sweet and Sour Chicken

I am obsessed with this Sweet and Sour Chicken dish from the mall food court of all things! Shanghai 360 is fairly new to Ottawa. I think the first one opened at Bayshore or the Rideau Centre this past year when both malls got major overhauls. The chain is also in other Ontario cities I believe. But their sweet and sour chicken is like none other. It’s more sweet than sour with a sticky, red sauce which has a hint of warm spice to it. I have no idea what’s in it and I don’t care. It’s one of the reasons I didn’t lose any weight this summer! Heehee! It got even worse through December when I found myself at the mall quite a lot for Christmas shopping, so it was my excuse to have this once or even twice a week. I’ve been trying to restrain myself as of late, but I had it again last week and it’s totally worth the calories. It’s my mission this winter to try to recreate the dish at home. In an attempt to eat a little healthier, I started with this one from the latest issue of Cooking Light. Not even close. It’s a good dish but not exactly gourmet – something to put together on a busy weeknight. I’ll keep trying so stay tuned.

SweetSour

Steve threw some steamed broccoli on top because he’s not a fan of pineapple.

Sweet and Sour Chicken

Ingredients:

2 large egg whites
4 tsp of cornstarch, divided
1 pound skinless, boneless chicken thighs, cut into 1-inch pieces
6 Tbsp ketchup
1/4 cup water
3 Tbsp cider vinegar
2 Tbsp brown sugar
1 1/2 Tbsp lower-sodium soy sauce
2 Tbsp canola oil, divided
1 large red bell pepper, cut into 1 inch pieces
1 1/2 cups fresh pineapple chunks
2 tsp grated peeled fresh ginger
3 green onions cut into 1 inch pieces
3/8 tsp kosher salt

Preparation:

1. Combine eggs whites and 1 tablespoon cornstarch in a large bowl, stirring with a whisk. Add chicken to the bowl; toss to coast.

2. Combine remaining 1 teaspoon cornstarch, ketchup, and the next 4 ingredients (through to soy sauce) in a bowl, stirring with a whisk.

3. Heat a large skillet non-stick skillet over medium-high heat.  Add 1 tablespoon of oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add pineapple, ginger, and onions to pan; cook 2 minutes, stirring occasionally. Transfer bell pepper to a plate.

4. Add remaining 1 tablespoon of oil in pan. Add chicken mixture to pan, allowing any excess egg white mixture to drip back into bowl. Stir-fry 6 minutes or under chicken is browned and done.

5.  Add ketchup mixture and bell pepper mixture to the pan. Bring to a simmer; simmer one minute or until slightly thickened. Sprinkle with salt; serve immediately.

Serves 4. Calories: 324.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

One response »

  1. oh my favorite dish! Thank you for sharing this recipe as I will keep it and definitely try it 🙂

    Please visit and follow my blog (www.lazymomcooking.wordpress.com) or my Instagram (lazymom_cooking) for some recipe ideas 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

