RSS Feed

Cauliflower “Popcorn”

I’m quite excited about this new cookbook my Aunt Susan gave me for Christmas – The Family Cooks. It’s got some yummy looking recipes in it, but they’re actually good for you!  I’ve mentioned a few times that my 4 year old is a picky eater so I was pleased to see this book has a whole chapter on how to get kids out of that picky eater stage. It’s going to require a little tough love on my part, and to be completely honest, most of the time I don’t have the patience for it. I’m going to start slowly by inviting her to pick out food at the grocery store, and get her to help out a little in the kitchen. One of the few vegetables she likes is cauliflower so I made this as a side with some ribs mushrooms, onions I made last week. After much begging, and finally bribing her with bubblegum, she put a tiny piece in her mouth and promptly spit it out. 😦 Steve and I really liked it though. I thought 1 1/2 tsp of salt was a bit much so I added only 1 tsp and it was still a touch too salty. Next time I will add 3/4 tsp. And watch it really carefully or it will burn. I’d stay stir it every 7 minutes instead of 10. We took ours out early because we were starving!

If you’re interested, the cookbook is now on sale at Chapters-Indigo! I don’t remember exactly but it’s $10 or $15. (February 2016)

cauliflowerpopcorn

Roasted Cauliflower Popcorn

Makes 4 servings Prep time: 10 minutes
Total time: 40 minutes

YOU’LL NEED:

1 large head cauliflower, cored and florets pulled apart into popcorn-size pieces
3 TBSP olive oil, plus more for the baking sheet
1 1/2 tsp salt

TO MAKE:

1. Preheat the oven to 450ºF with the rack in the middle. Grease a rimmed baking sheet with a thin coat of olive oil.

2. Toss the cauliflower with the olive oil and salt in a large bowl, making sure that every “kernel” is evenly coated. Taste the raw cauliflower. It’s already pretty good isn’t it?

3. Dump the cauliflower onto the baking sheet. Roast, shaking the pan every 10 minutes, until the “kernels” are evenly browned, about 30 minutes. Taste (the cook gets all the crispy golden bits) and season with more salt if you need to.

PLAY WITH IT:

• Before roasting, add a little chopped rosemary or parsley, or toss with grated Parmesan cheese.

• After roasting, for an Asian flair, toss with fish sauce, garlic, mint, and lime juice.

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

