RSS Feed

Nigella’s “Crustless” Pizza

I found this recipe for quick, no rise pizza in Nigella Lawson’s cookbook “Nigella’s Kitchen”. It sounded like a busy parent’s answer to frozen pizza so I had high hopes. I mixed it up and popped it in the oven but then things got weird because it really puffed up in the middle – like 4-5 inches! I was so surprised, I took it out of the oven and pressed it down. I still don’t know if I should have done that or whether it would have fallen on it’s own.  I left it in the oven for 5 minutes to heat the pepperoni and melt the cheese, then cut it open. Inside it was soggy and spongy. I thought it wasn’t done so I put it in for 5 more minutes, then 5 more. It never firmed up. I ate it anyway, but the texture was quite gross. I suspect this kind of thing is why British food gets a bad rap. Sorry Nigella, I’ve loved everything else I’ve made from your cookbooks but this one is a definite miss. After reading the reviews on the food network I discovered someone compared it to a Dutch Apple Pancake but in pizza form. In my opinion, these two dishes should never have a food baby. lol If any of you readers disagree, here’s the recipe so you can have your own Frankenrecipe adventure!

IMG_20160324_175452~2

Crustless Pizza

Total Time:53 min
Yield:2 to 4 servings

Ingredients:
1 egg
2/3 cup all-purpose flour
Salt
1 cup whole milk
Butter, for pie dish
1 cup grated Cheddar
2 ounces small chorizo or pepperoni slices, about 3/4-inch diameter, optional
Special equipment: 1 round ovenproof pie dish, 8 or 9 inches in diameter

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. In a small bowl, beat the egg with the flour, salt, to taste, and milk to make a smooth batter.

Butter a round ovenproof pie dish, then stir half the grated cheese into the batter, before pouring it into the dish.

Bake for 30 minutes. Take the dish out of the oven, sprinkle with the remaining cheese, and add the chorizo or pepperoni, if using, – or anything else – now, too. Return the dish to the oven and cook for another 2 or 3 minutes to make sure it’s heated through.

Once the cheese on top is melted and looks burnished fold on the crustless pizza, take it out of the oven and serve, cut into slices. A green or tomato salad on the side would not be a bad idea…

Leftover Note:Leftovers can be reheated the next day in a hot oven for 8 to10 minutes, but sadly they won’t be as nice as the first time around.

From Nigella Kitchen by Nigella Lawson. Copyright (c) 2010 Nigella

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

