RSS Feed

Poutine Fest

majorshill

Across the way at Major’s Hill Park, Ottawa, ON, Canada

I thought I’d give a little update since I haven’t posted anything in a  while. I’m still working quite a ways from home. It takes me 1.5 hrs total to drop off my daughter at the babysitters in the morning, then jump on another bus to get downtown, then yet another bus to get to the west end, and if I’m lucky I’ll catch a third bus to get to my office. Then I do it all in reverse to get home, except they’re doing construction near a main intersection downtown between the mall and the university so traffic gets tangled pretty badly and it’s been taking an extra 10-15 to get to the babysitters around 5:30. By the time we get home it’s 6 or after and I’m tired and hungry. If I don’t have leftovers I end up eating chicken fingers or some such thing with Miss M. I’ve been making recipes I know by heart so I haven’t been trying anything new lately.

Steve gets out of work earlier than me on Friday so he came over and made a giant roast beef. He cut up some white potatoes, sweet potatoes, carrots and onions, threw them in the roasting pan and nestled the beef on top, then roasted it. It was pretty good. The veggies were better than the meat actually. We have a ton of leftovers that I’m going to save to make enchiladas later this week.

Saturday we checked out Spark’s Street Poutine Fest but actually didn’t anything because the lineups were ridiculously long. They didn’t have enough chip trucks set up so wait times were way too long for us, especially with a 4 year old in tow. We headed home and made our own poutine with frozen fries! lol Here’s a recipe we made last year if you want to give it a try yourself.

 

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

