RSS Feed

Quick Update

It’s been a while since I posted anything on here, but I got a bit of a jolt this morning when I checked my comments. Apparently, I had forgotten to include a source for one of the recipes I’ve reviewed. I think it’s quite apparent that I try recipes from various sources and let you know how well they turned out for me. There are a few excepts, where I’ve made my own like my recipe for homemade Wunderbars for example, or I’ll tweak a recipe and make it my own. I just wanted to make it clear so that no one thinks I’m trying to pass most of these recipes off as my own.

In other news, I haven’t been doing as much  cooking as usual. I’ve had some bad luck in the last couple of months. First my dishwasher died, then my oven element died and I can’t fix it on my own so I need to call a repair guy. I would also have to take my old element to Sears to see if they have a replacement, and its not fun doing that on the bus.

I bought a little toaster oven in the meantime, and it works surprisingly well. I’ve roasted chicken, pork chops, and even prime rib in there and it’s all turned out really well! I’ve baked muffins, cupcakes, and blondies with good results. I can’t get a full sized casserole dish in there, and I can’t fit my cast iron skillet in there to broil something, which is frustrating. Come Christmas I will definitely need the oven fixed in order to roast a Turkey! This weekend I have to bit the bullet and run around to get all that done. Oh did I mention my basement sprung a leak so the contractor is coming by on Saturday to fix that. And it’s nearly Christmas. It’s a good thing I’m not shelling out the dough to go back to Labrador for Christmas or I’d be in a bind. Wish me luck!

oven

The oven: http://www.kmart.com/hamilton-beach-174-stainless-steel-6-slice-toaster-oven/p-00843878000P?plpSellerId=Kmart&prdNo=1&blockNo=1&blockType=G1

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a Reply

