Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Protein Cookies

I’m still on the search for healthier snacks and sweets. I love Chocolate covered Katie but I also wanted a break from dates, coconut, banana concoctions so when I came across this recipe I had to give it a try. The last time I bought protein powder I barely used it and it expired on top of my fridge. So I am pledging that I will make use of every last speck of this container. After making these cookies I have a feeling it won’t be that difficult. Finding ground flax seed actually proved to be the most challenging part of making these cookies. All I could find at my neighbourhood grocery store was whole flax seeds so I brought them home anyway and thought I’d give them a spin in the food processor. It didn’t work. I noticed that my Oster blender has a “grind” setting so I tossed the seeds in there instead. It worked like a charm. About a minute in the blender and I had ground flex seed! I mixed it up with the rest of my ingredients, popped them in the oven and watched them carefully. When I could see they were quite brown on the bottom and around the edges, I took them out. (About 12 minutes) They crumbled easily but held together better after cooling. Taste wise, you’d never say they have flax or protein powder in them. I really liked them and they actually do make you feel full.

BTW, I used vanilla flavoured whey protein. In the recipe it doesn’t specify how large a scoop. Mine was 39g and I put in only one scoop. The dough was the consistency of any other peanut butter cookie – a little dry but would stick together when you scoop and press it.

 

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Protein Cookies

Ingredients:

3/4 cup Peanut Butter (or PB2, Powdered Peanut Butter, which is much lower in fat for a lower calorie but slightly less filling cookie — click the link to view or buy PB2).

1 large egg

1 tsp Vanilla Extract

1/4 cup Chocolate Chips (or 1/2 cup for extra chocolatey goodness)

2 tbsp Ground Flax Seed

1/4 cup Diced Walnuts

2 scoops Protein Powder (I used 100% Whey Gold Double Rich Chocolate, available here)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375.

Combine all ingredients and mix well.

Scoop onto cookie sheet and flatten with a fork. (Makes 8 large, using an ice cream scoop as a guide. Making 12-14 smaller would also work!)

Bake for 12-18 minutes or until cookies are just beginning to brown (my bake time on this was funky. I first baked for 10, then took it out for a few, then put it back in for 5. I also turned the temp up to 375 for the last few minutes. Just watch for browning).

Read more: http://thefrugalgirls.com/2012/03/peanut-butter-chocolate-chip-protein-cookies-recipe.html#ixzz24mch16gO

About heathershomemade

Cupcake obsessed foodie from Ottawa, ON, Canada

Leave a comment